Customer Reviews for CalderaSpas® Palatino

Palatino

CalderaSpas® Palatino

The Palatino spa seats 6 adults, features the Acquarella® spa waterfall, and has 45 powerful hydromassage jets. Stylish and spacious, this is a popular value priced hot tub.
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5
79
4
25
3
7
2
0
1
3
26 out of 29(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Palatino
Review 101 for Palatino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

HOT TUBBING IN CT

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Insman
from Brookfield,CT
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We are a family of 6 and enjoy the spa year-round at least once a week. It's a good time to relax and talk to each other about everything that's going on with everyone. No cell phones, emails, texts, etc.
Also- you haven't lived until you do a hot-tub snow angel.
(jump out of the hot tub, do a snow angel, hop back in tub)
Invigorating to the 10th power!! WhooHoo!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 102 for Palatino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Caldera Pantino

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Bruce
from Yardley pa
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had one leak problem and now a heater pressure switch issue. More than I would have expected from a not yet 2 year old tub
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 103 for Palatino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall happy--a few problems

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
longtimespauser
from United States
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had to have a sensor replaced when the spa was brand new--it was not keeping the water at the right temperature. Now that it's replaced, it seems to be working fine. (The installers thought we were wrong--not Calderas fault--and I had to insist they make a repair--but we've had a spa for so long that I knew immediately that the temp of the water was not what the readout said it was. In a spa, 1 degree makes a difference--A new user might not have realized something was wrong). I'm a bit biased because my previous spa was also a Caldera, but a top of the line model, so this one is not quite as nice. But overall considering the difference in price, I'm happy with the variety of jets and seating positions. We enjoy the lights and "waterfall." I also like the way the lift and cover are attached and how they work. I did not like the "Spa Frog" thing for chemicals and have stopped using it. I've just gone back to checking and adding chemicals myself--which I've done for so long it's no big deal (and much cheaper).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 104 for Palatino
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

My 2nd Spa

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Electro Al
from United States
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My only negative comment is that Entering & Exiting the Spa could use design improvement. There is really no flat surface to step onto in the spa, so it may be slippery.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 105 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great at first, but it ages quickly

PostedJuly 26, 2022
Customer avatar
mister smith
from Western NY
Age:45-54
We purchased this using a 5-year interest-free promotion. At its core, it's a nice hot tub. The seating is great, mainly the reclining spot and the two corners. The other three are more like "cool down" spots and don't offer much. The extra depth is excellent. The waterfall is soooo lame and serves nothing more than a prank opportunity.
We'll have to replace many parts well before we're done paying for it, we're just over 3 years in. The "safety mechanism" on the cover opener has been replaced twice because it weakens and breaks over time. Fortunately, it only brained me once with no injuries (just saw stars for a minute).
The speakers have never been great, but they sound like they've blown after about 6 months...still usable though. But now the subwoofer died too. So save yourself the money on the upgrade and just get a nice portable outdoor speaker. It will sound better and last longer.
Every pillow in the tub is cracked and peeling. This started in under 3 years. You'd think the R&D would have figured this out by now.
The container to hold the Frog cartridges got brittle and cracked, the fell apart. See the previous comment about R&D.
While the tub looks good, it scratches VERY EASILY. 97% of the tub's usage is without clothing, so I'm not sure of the cause but there are many scratches. I hear they buff out but have not looked into it yet.
So bottom line is, it's a decent tub but the value simply is not there. We have maintained this tub regularly and use it regularly year round. The fact that we need to replace all of the parts within 3 years at this price point is absurd.
By Customer Service Caldera KylieJuly 28, 2022
Thank you for reaching out with your review. We're glad that you are enjoying many parts of your spa. I am sorry to hear that you've had some frustrations along with that as well. Our dealers and our customer care team are always available to help and work with you to resolve any concerns that you have.

I'm passing along your feedback to our team. If you have further questions or concerns please call 800-999-4688 ext 8432 or email our customer care team at CustomerService@Watkinsmfg.com. Thank you again for your time and post.

Happy Hot Tubbing!
Kylie - Customer Care calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 106 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Happy except for the lounge seat

PostedMarch 14, 2017
Customer avatar
MTKEP
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age:35-44
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
We really like our Caldera Hot Tub and very happy we purchased. One items we wish we would have explored more is the lounge seat. Lounge seat is not universal. It is better suited for an average male. My husband did not want the lounge seat and I pushed for it because in a previous hot tub I used it all the time. This lounge seat is deep and I feel like I have to sit on my legs to be at the right height. I am 5'7" so pretty average female size. The size of the tub is really nice feels comfortable with 4 adults in the hot tub. We are happy with the color schemes offered as well it goes really well with all our earth tones on our patio.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaMarch 21, 2017
Spa seating and configuration vary from mode to model. There are booster spa seats that can be used to give you a better experience. I will email you some information about that product. Thank you for your post and I and I am glad to hear that you are enjoying your spa. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 107 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Palatino spa

PostedAugust 15, 2016
Customer avatar
Rockey
from Sacppoose Oregon
Age:55-65
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I really like my tub.. I use it 3-5 times a week and it is an easy care unit. I would recommend this tub as a purchase.
I am not as impressed with the service I received when it had an issue. It had a leak with one of the valves and it needed to be replaced. My tub was down for 3-4 weeks waiting on the part from Caldera (at least that is what my service guy said). I have had the tub for little over a year but was a little disappointed when it started leaking.. since the valve replacement it has been fine.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 18, 2016
I am sorry to hear about the delay in repair. However, I am glad that it was addressed. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the dealer.
Sounds like you are back to enjoying your spa. Thank you for your review. calderaspas_brand
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 18, 2016
I am sorry to hear about the delay in repair. However, I am glad that it was addressed. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the dealer.
Sounds like you are back to enjoying your spa. Thank you for your review. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 108 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great spa horrible buying expierence

PostedAugust 8, 2016
Customer avatar
Zoey5150
from Fort Worth , TX
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had the worst buying experience buying this spa, it arrived damaged then they set it up and damaged the cover it took the manufacturer getting involved to even get it replaced - the sow itself is really nice and we are happy with it so far
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 11, 2016
Wow, I am sorry to hear about your spa being damaged. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience.
It is good to know that you are enjoying your Palatino spa. Hot Tub soaking is a great was to relax and rejuvenate. Enjoy! calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 109 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Palatino, overall a good purchase.

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
car-hauler
from upstate new york
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As the cold weather arrived the up-keep of the water became a problem. The water color and a strong smell when you uncovered it. Checking with test kit daily and adjusting the chemicals was a must. Was bringing a sample in almost weekly.I had a large inground pool 16-32 8ft. deep.Taking care of that was never a problem. The winter season the electrical cost tripled. I tried all different ways, from lowering the temp at night, sleeper mode, to keeping it set at 100 degrees all the time. Cleaning the hot tub every three months is a must. Even during the winter months.a challenge in the north-east. My family does enjoy it,
Response from Caldera SpasBy SteveCaldera Spas Customer ServiceJune 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback; we're glad your family is enjoying the spa! We've reached out to you via email to further support you as it relates to water chemistry. Thank you for your business!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 110 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

HOT TUB REVIEW

PostedApril 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Cheryle
from Colorado Springs
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The hot tub I purchased, after at least 5 repairs within the
first couple of months, now appears to work propertly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 111 for Palatino
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

our caldera.

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
sixpack
from atlanta ga
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thank God for the warranty.....having the spa for a year the maintenance man had to replace the faulty dual speed pump.
I also have problem maintaining the right temperature of the water. But overall I enjoy the product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 112 for Palatino
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

More expensive than I thought.

PostedMarch 4, 2018
Customer avatar
Frustrated
from Narragansett, Rhode Island
Age:55-65
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
When my wife and I bought the the Caldera Palatno we though we would be spending more on electricity to run the unit that fixing the problems.
Over the course of 3.5 years we have replaced 3 2-speed motors and the heater.
Currently we are not able to use the spa because of a possible problem with the pressure switch.
I would not recommend Caldera spas to anyone.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaMarch 9, 2018
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your spa is in need of service and that you and your wife are not able to use it. I would like to see how I can help. I will contact you to gain more information. Thank you again for your time and I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 113 for Palatino
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not too happy

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Cody
from Walnut Creek CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I had a Caldera Spa for 20 years and had a great experience before this spa. So I wanted to replace it with a Caldera Spa. This new spa is not as good. The spa does not clean itself well, the ozoneator never seemed to do it's job and it requires chemicals all the time Either the water or the cover has an odder that is not pleasant or inviting. Overall the quality is not anywhere near what I expected.
Response from Caldera SpasBy MarianneCustomer ServiceJuly 15, 2015
Hello, Thank you for letting us know how you are doing with your spa water care. There are many factors that can effect your spa water. When you have some time please contact customer service and I am sure we can help with this and get you happy with your spa. Please call me at 1-800-999-4688 X4267 Monday thru Friday PST.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 114 for Palatino
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely Disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer avatar
T
from Denver, Colorado
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I am totally disappointed with the quality of the cabinet on our new Caldera Vacanza Palatino Spa. After having a IHT Hot Springs Spa for several years and having to completely remove the redwood siding twice to remove rodent damage and droppings, I was done with having a hot tub in our rural location.
However, as my wife and I walked though our local Costco Warehouse on Sunday, March 17th, 2013, the spa display caught our attention. I talked with the salesperson and expressed my concern about keeping mice and rodents out and our previous experiences. I was assured that "These new spas are totally sealed" and mice and rodents are no longer a problem. Our spa was finally delivered Friday, April 26, 2013. Somewhat longer than the two to three weeks it was initially promised but we remained patient thoughout the process. The three guys that delivered it were great. They were much more customer service oriented than the commission hungry salesman. They set it up and explained everything in a professional manner. Later that evening, I decided to check the spa's construction. I used a telescoping mirror that I have used for years doing automotive mechanical work. I was shocked to discover the underside of the cabinet beneath the polymer siding is basically "Raw Wood." I counted at least four 1/2" openings or gaps just waiting for a mouse to crawl inside and begin destroying the insulation. In addition to the openings, there are 1/8" to almost 1/4" gaps in the wood. None of these are caulked and painted. There is some black paint on the base but the area directly behind the bottom of the siding is totally raw exposed wood. This is one of those rare moments when I wish I had not paid cash, almost $6,800.00 with taxes, for an item because now I have no recourse. This is not an item worthy of that kind of price with this level of or lack thereof of quality.
We have not even filled it and used it yet because I will have to basically rebuild the bottom of the cabinet before we can use it. I know if I fill it and begin using it without fixing the obvious manufacturing defects, the mice will come and the wood will rot. I doubt it would last two years without repairing the base of the cabinet.
Response from Caldera SpasBy SteveCaldera Spas Customer ServiceJune 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are sorry to hear about your situation. Please contact our customer service team at 800-669-1881 at any time so that we may further assist you. Thank you for your business.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6