Customer Reviews for CalderaSpas® Makena

Makena

CalderaSpas® Makena

The Makena® a full-featured, full-sized lounge spa model in the popular Paradise Series is perfect for daily personal care, family time and entertaining. The Makena features our signature comfort, performance and style amenities including 46 jets, 12 points-of-light, a backlit Acquarella® waterfall, and seating for up to 6 adults.
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 67 reviews
5
55
4
10
3
0
2
1
1
1
1 out of 1(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makena
Review 1 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

“Paradise at home”

PostedAugust 9, 2018
Customer avatar
Ange
from Mount Prospect, Il
Age:55-65
My Makena hot tub was the best purchase I ever made! After multiple hip surgeries and back issues this has been the best therapy I have had.
This is not just a hot tub, it’s a total body experience. For aching muscles or just to relax this has been a great addition to my life. I highly recommend these spas to everyone! I am in mine every day. The maintenance is easy and very user friendly.
Response from Caldera SpasBy ChelseaCustomer ServiceAugust 13, 2018
The Makena model is a fantastic choice, and I am so glad to hear daily soaking has brought you some relief after your surgeries. It is amazing what soaking in hot water with focused jets can do for your body and mind! I hope you continue to enjoy your spa for many years to come.

Happy hot tubbing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like Vacation Everyday

PostedJuly 6, 2018
Customer avatar
Spacation
from Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We needed a spa because my husband and I both have hip issues. We truly did not realize the impact a spa would have on soothing our muscles and joints and lower anxiety from feeling sore a lot!
When I get out of the spa I feel relaxed and I get better sleep. I'm glad we chose a spa with more jets. Every seat has something to offer. The waterfall sound and lights are soothing but a true luxury spa experience when you let it lightly dance on your neck or back. We never owned a spa. I did as much research as possible. My best advice is buy the spa for you and not the friends that may use it too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Nice Hot Tub!

PostedJune 27, 2018
Customer avatar
Pmoney
from Susanville
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So far so good, Hot tub was very easy to set-up. The controls are easy to use. Lots of jets and very comfortable, What else can I say, other than you get what you pay for. Excellent purchase.
Response from Caldera SpasBy ChelseaCustomer ServiceJuly 30, 2018
You made a great choice with the Makena hot tub. I am so glad you are loving your spa, and I hope you continue to enjoy for years to come. Thank you for your review!

Happy hot tubbing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleased In Kentucky

PostedDecember 3, 2017
Customer avatar
HarpoJMU87
from Louisville
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We purchased our Makena from a local dealer and the customer service and training was outstanding.
Our entire family, including grandchildren, have enjoyed the spa experience.
Highly recommend!
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaDecember 16, 2017
Hello Pleased in Kentucky

Thank you for your review and recommendation. Family time relaxing in the spa is time well spent.

Happy Hot Tubbing! calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy with our 1st spa.

PostedNovember 27, 2017
Customer avatar
Tammy
from WI
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Picking out the perfect spa is very hard. There are way too many options to pick from. With the help of our sales rep (Amanda), she was able to narrow down what we were looking for in a spa. What we picked was and excellent choice for our family of four. We are all very comfortable in all the different seating arrangements offered. Still getting use to how to take care of the water and cleaning the filter, but I'm sure that will get easier as time goes on. Happy we picked the Makena!
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaDecember 11, 2017
Hello and Welcome First time Caldera Spa Owner.
We are privileged that you picked Caldera for your hot tub relaxing needs. I know we will provide you with wonderful hot water therapy for many years to come.
I am glad that you have had some assistance along the way. There are so many things to consider. The Makena is a great choice. I will be sure to share your post with our team.
Thank you for your review. calderaspas_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Relaxing

PostedOctober 6, 2017
Customer avatar
GrannyCara
from Warren, OH
Age:Over 65
Have enjoyed the spa since it was installed a couple of weeks ago. Easy to understand settings. Our sales person was very helpful and informative on all aspects. Helps with arthritis and grandchildren love using it after soccer. The set up was very quick and the men explained main aspects of using it. Love it and would highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the water is fine!

PostedAugust 18, 2017
Customer avatar
foote
from Canandaigua,NY
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It has taken us a lot of years to commit to a hot tub and are loving every minute now. we enjoy the relaxation and just the connection with each other while enjoying the spa.The jets are like a massage and the warmth of the water so relaxing. it is so pretty to look at an a true asset to our backyard.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaSeptember 1, 2017
Hello The water is fine!

Love hearing reviews like yours. Deciding on a hot tub is a big deal and is a commitment. It's great to know that you are happy with your spa. Hot tub soaking and relaxing is a great way to disconnect from electronics and have quality time with your loved ones. Thank you for choosing the Mekena and Welcome to the Caldera Spa family. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makena

PostedAugust 10, 2017
Customer avatar
Corey C
from Reno, NV
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The tub is great the care and start up could not be easier. The jets systems work away the days frustrations, stresses and some of the day's poor choices. Controls are very intuitive and convenient I especially like the memory feature press a single button and everything comes back on the way I left it.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 11, 2017
Stress free hot tubbing is the way to go.
Thank you for your review!
calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's not to like.....

PostedJuly 26, 2017
Customer avatar
Shalalah
from Smyrna
Age:Over 65
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
We had a hot tub a number of years ago, but advancements have really enhanced the hot tub experience. Our Makena looks beautiful sitting out there on the deck and it is just a delight to be in. My husband has back issues and he heads right for the tub at the slightest twinge!! For health and relaxation, this can't be beat. Thanks to your representatives in New Castle, DE for ensuring that the installation was accomplished without a hitch and our every question was answered. We have no doubt they will be there to help, whenever we need it. This is an excellent product which will give us years of enjoyment..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good decision to purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2017
Customer avatar
JW
from Barrie Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We looked at numerous spa dealers makes and models and were sold on Caldera. I was very pleased with the ease of delivery, setup and use.
Our sales person Mark at Pioneer Pools was excellent.
Response from Caldera SpasBy CatherineCaldera Spas Team July 5, 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy you decided to join the Caldera family. It sounds like the Makena spa is perfect for you. Enjoy the wellness!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love our Makena!

PostedJune 4, 2017
Customer avatar
DebNevada
from Reno, Nevada
Age:Over 65
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought our Makena Spa from Kevin at the Spa and Sauna Co. of Reno for my husband's surprise 65th birthday last week. He was totally surprised and we absolutely love it. What a fantastic way to totally relax after a busy day, especially when you're on your feet all day long! Excited to have our daughter and family over this afternoon so they too can enjoy it with us.
Definitely recommend this spa!
Response from Caldera SpasBy CatherineCaldera Spas Team June 7, 2017
Happy birthday to your husband! What a fantastic birthday gift. We wish you many enjoyable years in your new Makena spa. Enjoy the wellness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome spa!

PostedApril 23, 2017
Customer avatar
Dizzy_des
from Reno, Nv
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Purchased this Caldera spa four weeks ago. Wow it's awesome! The body color matches my house. The jets are very well positioned. Ease of use, ( the screen is easy to read) and unlike my old tub I'm not having to switch multiple poorly lit buttons. Really enjoying this tub.
Response from Caldera SpasBy CatherineCaldera Spas Team April 26, 2017
Thanks so much for your review. We are happy to hear you are loving your new Caldera spa - especially the jets and the body color! Enjoy the wellness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Purchase EVER!

PostedJanuary 8, 2017
Customer avatar
veryhappycustomer
from Brookings, SD
Age:25-34
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was skeptical with the purchase of our spa! However, it was the best decision. I absolutely LOVE every minute spent in it. I find that I sleep better and feel better overall. Very relaxing. And it is relatively easy to maintain!
Response from Caldera SpasBy CatherineCaldera Spas Team February 27, 2017
We are thrilled to hear about how much you are loving your Makena spa. It can definitely help you feel better - we're glad you are experiencing the wellness benefits of your spa. Thank you very much for your review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makena Heaven

PostedAugust 26, 2016
Customer avatar
MLA_7
from Westminster, CA
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waited a long time before buying a spa and finally went shopping. We ran across a small little spa dealer in Costa Mesa called OC Spas and Hot Tubs. Ryan and Les spent countless hours educating and showing us all the features that the Caldera spas have. We checked out other spa brands and dealers with wet tests and questions. The spas that stood out and with the amazing service we went with Ryan at OC. The Makena with the Ephoria jet, comfort, and size was the perfect spa for our family of four. We are now a proud family member of Caldera and OC Spas and Hot Tubs. One regret is we should have bought one a long time ago.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaSeptember 2, 2016
Hello Makena Heaven

Thank you for choosing Caldera Spas. I am happy to hear that your are enjoying your Makena. I think it is fantastic that you were able to wet test your spa and received great service from Rayn at OC Spas.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience. calderaspas_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MLA_7
Westminster, CA
Makena Heaven Update
Posted October 3, 2016
Update to our review.
My wife was diagnosed with a torn hip labrum (http://www.houstonmethodist.org/orthopedics/where-does-it-hurt/hip/labral-tears/) and talked to multiple doctors and was doing physical therapy for over a year. Nothing really worked and surgery was not an option due to blood clotting with previous surgeries.
Since owning the Makena Spa for over a month my wife's condition with the torn labrum has improved dramatically.
Since she has used the spa the pain has almost completely gone away and her range of motion is 80% better. She has quit physical therapy and is only using the spa.
We did not purchase the spa for her condition and did not even think that it would help in any way, but she has been pleasantly surprised with the outcome.
Soaking in this spa has completely changed her quality of life and we can't be thankful enough
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love soaking

PostedAugust 9, 2016
Customer avatar
Holly
from Rifle
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my Caldera spa!! I soak just about every day for at least an hour. One of our best investmemts!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best SPA ever!!!

PostedJuly 14, 2016
Customer avatar
Teresa
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age:45-54
I bought Makena in April 2016. I really love it . Easy to keep clean by itself, on the bottom is always clear and drain out first time this week and everything are easy back normal ! I love the message from the jets help reduce my lower back pain. Spa every night and control water temp for summer time which is great !!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makena

PostedJuly 11, 2016
Customer avatar
Mark12
from Oklahoma City
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have absolutely enjoyed this spa. As a former spa tech and salesman I knew what to look for and this one had the best setup for the price. Plenty of therapy jets. The corner seat will blow you out if you turn it all the way up. Nice adjustability whether you are in by yourself or with 4 or 5 others. Plenty of room. Overall it is well built and stylish and the warranty is good as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

How much I love my spa

PostedJuly 11, 2016
Customer avatar
JJ 7374
from MI
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We researched many different spas and sizes for over a year and finally decided on this one. We are first time owners and it was very easy to get the water set up and maintained. We have never regretted our purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy with Makena model by watkins and Caldera

PostedJuly 9, 2016
Customer avatar
tublover28
from Concord, N.C.
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This tub seems to be of good quality thus far. I have owned mine for about 7 months and so far no issues. Put it on a solid foundation and you won't have to worry about it structurally.
The frog system and typical chemicals are the only set back with any spa. The frog system did not seem to do as good as i expected. Have no fear there are better options out there and i found them, and that has made me a very happy spa owner! Love the blue tooth music option on the makena too!
I use my smart phone and play music while enjoying the relaxation of all the jets. The spa should do me fine for what i need. I bought mine for the theraputic massage and relaxation from stress. It is great in morning and evenning time frames, and summer mode keeps it desired to be used year round. Thank you Caldera!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Makena
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love our Makena hot tub

PostedJuly 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Alston99
from Newark Delaware
Age:55-65
My husband and I replaced a 20 year old hot tub and purchases the Makena model in January of 2015. We love it! It is easy to maintain and with both of us having back issues there is nothing better than to come home and soak in the hot tub. We use it a lot during the winter and it was a beautiful addition to ou back deck!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>