Customer Reviews for CalderaSpas® Kauai

Kauai

CalderaSpas® Kauai

Named for an island popular among vacationers, the Kauai® redefines easy living. The Kauai hot tub seats 3 adults and features the UltraMassage® lounge and EcstaSeat®. Powerful spa jets and conversation seating makes the Kauai a popular 3 person hot tub. With 20 Euro jets, 5 VersaSsage® jets and a powerful ReliaFlo® 2.0 HP pump, the Kauai is a powerhouse of pleasure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.49 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5
112
4
29
3
4
2
5
1
7
22 out of 23(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Kauai
Review 141 for Kauai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good SPA

PostedJune 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Albert65
from Port Ludlow, Wa
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I would have rated it 5-stars, but there is only one problem in the comfort department. The jets near the head rests are not recessed enough and you can feel them in your upper back when reclining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Kauai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

troubled waters

PostedSeptember 6, 2016
Customer avatar
bryan
from jackson, wi
Age:55-65
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I suppose it's just because we're new to it but it doesn't seem like water quality should be such a problem. The jets are "surging" on occasion which concerns me.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaSeptember 7, 2016
Thank you for your review. I would like to address your questions and concerns. Pleas look for an email from me. I am sure we can figure out your water care needs. I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Kauai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

hot tub ok

PostedJuly 1, 2016
Customer avatar
mediocre 1
from Bruce,SD
Age:45-54
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The hot tub is ok has a few glitches should have another head rest on the chairs. Frog system does not work all the time. It works for a while keeps bromine at the level. Then all of a sudden you have no bromine in water . Then you have to open frog system cover let it push water out of it then it works again for a few days. Not made to have inside it gets really hot at 106degrees and the temp setting is at 94 degrees
Response from Caldera SpasBy VanessaCustomer ServiceJuly 8, 2016
Thank you for your review and suggestions. I am sorry to hear that your spa is not operating properly. I would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me in your inbox. I look forward in working with you soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Kauai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

more work than I ever thought!

PostedJune 30, 2016
Customer avatar
E
from san Diego, California
Age:45-54
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
there seems to be some kind of white crud in the hose lines that I can't get out of there, so I change the water about once a month and in about two weeks time it's getting gross. I seem to own every chemical for spas in the world, but I can't seem to keep it clean. I'm pretty much through being frustrated with it but I love this opportunity to review it because nobody else seems to care. Thank you, Erik Rusch
p.s. i've tried to work that frog system on that tub, I changed the mineral and the other thing when they're supposed to be changed out doesn't help me any with the gross water that I always end up with in tub.
perhaps, this is a cry for help, but I've tried all I can do and I've been totally stressed about it in the past. I will continue the fight though, maybe I can make this tub work as it should. If caldera and the folks that sell their spas were more receptive to the needs of new hot tub owners, instead of the sell sell sell mentality,perhaps we could work this out . I won't hold my breath waiting though Thank you, Erik Rusch
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaJuly 1, 2016
Erik- Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa issue. I would be glad to help in any way that I can. I will be reaching out to your via email. Working with you and your dealer I am sure we can find a resolution. I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
EmptySpa
Des Moines, IA
True
Posted July 1, 2016
I've had a lot of issues with my water also, but the sales guys haven't been able to help me either. I'm in a similar boat as you are, but water is expensive here, so I currently have it sitting empty and turned off. I'll fill it at the end of summer and tackle the issues again then.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 145 for Kauai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Kauai

PostedJune 29, 2016
Customer avatar
spajunkie
from portland, OR
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the size. Had an issue with the drain. It didn't work at first and the dealership had to order a part to repair it. I'm trying to figure out the chemical balance. Love the size again. It's perfect for one or two people.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaJuly 1, 2016
Thank you for your spa review. Water care can take some getting use to. We would love to help, Customer Service can be reacted at 800-669-1881 ext 8432.
The Kauai is a great size spa glad to know you love it. calderaspas_brand
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaJuly 1, 2016
Thank you for your spa review. Water care can take some getting use to. We would love to help, Customer Service can be reacted at 800-669-1881 ext 8432.
The Kauai is a great size spa glad to know you love it. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 146 for Kauai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I loved my 12 year old Kauai from the past,this new one not so much.

PostedApril 25, 2018
Customer avatar
SanDiegoEl
from San Diego,Ca
Age:Over 65
The reason I use hot-tub is to stretch my achy body each morn.This acrylic shell is very hard on my body and not as easy to slide around in the tub,as was my old Kauai.
A new bromine cartridge each month,expensive.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaApril 27, 2018
Thank you for your review and feedback. The acrylic of the shell is the same however we have made some seating changes. Allowing the bather to sink into each seat as if being hugged by the jets in a relaxing position. Bromine is a great product to use to keep your water clean. There are adjustments on the cartridge that can be made that should help it last longer. If you should have any questions, Customer Service is available at 800-6691881.
Happy Hot Tubbing! calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Kauai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality is an issue

PostedAugust 3, 2017
Customer avatar
susan34
from Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My heater has broken twice in the 2 years I've owned it, And the jet motor has burned out as well. In addition the water drainage valve was glued shut and I had to have a service man come out and cut of the valve and replace it. They were familiar with this being a problem too. Not sure why it was sold to me with the valve glued shut. One of the LED lights has burnt out as well. Fighting the warranty to get this tub repaired required a lot of energy as well.
This hot tub is not engineered well. I'm very sad about this purchase and wished I went with a Hot Springs Tub.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 4, 2017
I am sorry to hear that your spa has had some operation issues. Even though this is a rare instance it is not ok. I would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me. Thank you for your post and I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 148 for Kauai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Worse spa ever

PostedMarch 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Disappointed owner
from North Carolina
Age:55-65
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this spa 2 years ago, after owning a Baja spa for over 10 years (trouble-free). Have spent more time "maintaining & fixing" this spa than actually USING the spa. This spa was installed, but the water would not regulate...no bromine distribution. Water discolored. "Battled" with the retailer for months, continually throwing chemicals into the spa to no avail. Finally, after begging and pleading, they sent a repair person out, who could not figure out why the spa was so discolored. THEN, Caldera informs retailer, that this spa needs a "distributer" put in the pump area (who knew? & why wasn't installed originally??). So, in essence, bought the spa & couldn't even use if the first 4 months of ownership! Tried to get retailer or Caldera to take the spa back, but no go. This resolves issues for a while, but then the circulator pump goes out. Fixed, refill spa (which each time requires removing panel door & "burping" the pump afterwards-major hassle as it requires undoing 8 screws). Following this, major "gunk" around spa. Get someone out again, now have to change filter, drain and refill. If you want a tub that is labor-intensive, this is the spa for you. I personally plan to sell it and if you are considering buying a Caldera, DON'T.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaApril 7, 2016
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your spa. I would like to see what I can do to help. I believe that their is a resolution that will allow you to truly enjoy your spa.

I look forward in working with you soon. Please look for an email from me in your inbox. calderaspas_brand
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaApril 7, 2016
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your spa. I would like to see what I can do to help. I believe that their is a resolution that will allow you to truly enjoy your spa.

I look forward in working with you soon. Please look for an email from me in your inbox. calderaspas_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 149 for Kauai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Kauai Problem

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Jimmy
from Tampa, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
After draining spa, when filling back up, have to release pressure on the main pump to get jets to work. That requires taking the front panel off every time. That is a very disappointing part of owning this spa. I have reached out to the dealer, but can't get them to fix.
Response from Caldera SpasBy BenCustomer ServiceJuly 21, 2015
Hi Jimmy, thank you for your feedback on your Kauai model spa! Yes, at times, when refilling the spa, airlocks can get trapped in the plumbing, which can cause the jet pumps to chug. Are you filling the spa by placing your garden hose down the filter standpipe? Loosening the jet pump union allows any trapped air to escape.

If you do have questions or concerns, I encourage you to contact our customer service team at Watkins by dialing 800.999.4688 ext 8432, to speak with one of our knowledgeable reps. We are happy to help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 150 for Kauai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

High price low quality

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Pablo
from Woodland park, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Paid a lot more for caldera than other brands available hoping to get better quality but I've had two service calls in less than a year. Within the first first week they had to replace the pump because it would shut down after half an hour of use. Then the temperature started going crazy shooting up to 105 degrees with thermostat set to 95. The spa still makes a thunking noise and shuts down occasionally and won't run for hours and it's still less than a year old. I would not recommend this spa to others.
Response from Caldera SpasBy Peggy W. Customer ServiceSeptember 15, 2014
Thanks for providing your review of the Kauai model spa. I would like to help turn this experience around if I can. I will write to you directly for more details and will be glad to contact your local dealer to see what we can do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 151 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Caldera sucks

PostedSeptember 22, 2020
Customer avatar
Jazzsy
from Summerfield, Fl
Age:55-65
My Kauai hot tub was delivered on August 7th - haven’t been able to use as the pressure switch and heater is already broken and I keep being told the parts were ordered.
I keep pushing and I’m told parts were shipped on Sept 9, today is September 22 and nothing - no word - no one can even come up with a order number or tracking number!
Don’t buy Caldera !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 152 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality bad disign and terrible service

PostedOctober 28, 2017
Customer avatar
Edwin
from Netherlands
Age:45-54
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
I have 2 Caldera the first has leaking problems.
The second has 3 speakers and audio systeem and leaking also.
I pay 2000 euro,s more for the second Caldera for the audio system.
But now the audio system is disabled because the speakers are leaking.
Bey Bey 2000 eur,s
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaNovember 2, 2017
I am sorry to hear that you have had service issues with your spa. I see that you are working with our UK contact for resolution. I will be sure to pass on your comments to him. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to work with you. Glad to know you are back in your spa and I hope to improve your spa experience. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 153 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major design flaw

PostedAugust 19, 2017
Customer avatar
Peter
from Santa Fe,
Age:45-54
When you fill the spa it is not possible to avoid an airlock in the pump. This requires the tub to be dismantled so that you can access the pump to prime it - as described in a throw away line in troubleshooting. This is a major design flaw in this model
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaAugust 22, 2017
Priming the pumps is part of the normal start up. Its is listed in the owners manual along with all other important operational functions. However, I will contact your dealer and ask them for evaluate your spa and make sure all is in working order. Thank you for your post.
Happy Hot Tubbing! calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 154 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed with a recurring problem

PostedJuly 7, 2016
Customer avatar
spagirl
from Idaho
Age:55-65
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We bought this spa about a year ago and we were very pleased with it until it was time to change the water. Every time we drain the water out, it gets an airlock. This requires an expensive visit from our spa service man to get the airlock out. The wood side panel covering the motor is not easy to get on and off.
This is our 4th spa that we have owned and the first spa that has had this problem. I would not recommend this spa unless you are very handy at getting the wooden side panels off to release the airlock.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaJuly 11, 2016
Thank you for your review. While every spa is different we do our best to communicate the operational and maintenance needs for all of the spas we manufacture. Some of our models do require purging the air from the lines at start up.
Draining and refilling can take some getting used to, perhaps with the dealers help they can show you how to remove the equipment compartment door. Customer Service is also available if you should have any additional questions or concerns. We can be reached at 800-669-1881 ext. 8432. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 155 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

We got a lemon and no one will help

PostedJune 27, 2016
Customer avatar
TSQ
from South Carolina
Age:45-54
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We purchased our Kauai hot tub (KAA3T1107) in October 2015 and had problems with it almost immediately. No matter what we tried, the water never looked right. We've had to drain/refill it 5-6 times already and are on our third filter. We're incredibly frustrated that this "worry-free" spa has been a total bust and are sorry we bought it!
Since no one would help us, we hired a professional spa maintenance company to try and fix this lemon. Despite a thorough cleaning, all new cartridges and a new filter, we're still getting milky looking water, a strong chemical smell, and what can only be described as booger-like slime floating in the water.
We haven't been able to use our hot tub when we want to as no one in their right mind would get into that milky slime-bucket. The spa guy has tried his best but hasn't been able to fix it. The one down the street looks fine, so it's not our water.
We resent having to spend so much money on a brand new spa! If it's this bad new, what's it going to be like in a few years?
It's turning into a useless money-pit instead of the relaxing spa we wanted. We wouldn't recommend it to anyone!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kathy
California
Posted June 30, 2016
It sounds like you have the same problem we have had. Apparently, it was a manufacturing flaw.It has to do with the tubing and a lubricant that was used. I have just made my final attempt to correct the problem, which is calcium stearate. That's what is making all the white flakes and chunks. If this last attempt doesn't clear things up, I'm going to see about returning the spa for my money back.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 156 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A Lemon at Best

PostedMay 21, 2016
Customer avatar
PO
from South Carolina
Age:Over 65
I bought a KAUAI Serial KAA1S1060 in December 2013. My wife and I have had nothing but trouble with it from the start. The first ozoneator Caldera sent to us was the wrong one for our spa. It failed after four months and it took us three months to recover from that failure. They sent a second unit and it failed after one year. I am presently attempting to put the unit back into service and after the first refill the main pump has now failed. I would not recommend a Caldera spa to anyone.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaMay 26, 2016
I am sorry to hear that you have had issues with the Ozonator. I would like to see what I can do to help. Please look for an email from me. I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 157 for Kauai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

A piece of junk

PostedMay 26, 2011
Customer avatar
unhappy
from Scottsville,Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The circulating pump has been replaced 2x a year since the date I purchased it.
When the warranty expires I am sawing it in half and putting it in the dump
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8