Customer Reviews for CalderaSpas® Cantabria

Cantabria

CalderaSpas® Cantabria

The spacious Cantabria® large hot tub redefines hydrotherapy. It comfortably fits 8 adults and features the UltraMassage® lounge with the customizable UltraMasseuse® System. This jetting system will make you feel like royalty as you create your personal spa experience with six different jet sequences and three speeds.
Average Customer Rating:
4.503 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 147 reviews
5
110
4
20
3
6
2
3
1
8
16 out of 17(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Cantabria
Review 141 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Multiple issues including leaks and poor service options

PostedSeptember 28, 2020
Customer avatar
Chris222
from San Diego
Age:45-54
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Where to start. Originally, I was very excited to make the purchase and have the Cantabria as an addition to our backyard remodel. It looked great, and at first was very enjoyable for my wife and I to use. Trouble however began within months, 1.) Side panel needed to be replaced as it began to crack around the screws that held it in place (several have done the same), then 2.) one of (3) speakers went out and the sub-woofer had to be adjusted as it sat against the inside panel and would vibrate loudly at even low volume levels, then 3.) just after 1 year (cover warranty period 1 year) the cover literally starts to break down so that any rain or surface water collects in the middle of the cover and under it causing it to be very heavy to lift (on third cover since purchase and about to need fourth (~$775 from Watkins), 4.) heater then goes out and recommended service company by dealer has to come out 3 times to finally figure out that the heater needs to be replaced (nice young guy come out but no experience and is literally reading the manual to replace and on the phone with Sr. tech trying to walk him through it), 5.) multiple jet covers and valve covers come off due to poor silicon sealant usage in construction (per service company), and finally 6.) leaking begins (different recommended service company by dealer owner) comes out and "fixes" leak. Over the weekend after repair, the leaking starts again. Contacted service company and they say they will have to charge again as they fixed what they thought was the problem, and will now have to try again. When I ask why they think I should pay them again for something they did not actually fix the first time, the dispatcher stated that they do the best they can, but leaks are hard to diagnose and can be anywhere in the plumbing, so it is challenge to sometimes fix after even several trips. That is why they have to charge for their time as well (not just a trip charge mind you), 6.) Service company does not come back and leaves job with several panels misaligned and screws missing to re-secure panels. It should be noted that I have religiously bought the chemicals/filters/test strips/spa and cover cleaners/etc. while owning this spa, as well as testing and refilling the water as recommended by the mfg. Not sure if this one is just a lemon, however the support to repair has been pretty atrocious over the several years I have owned this spa. I would not recommend this level of investment to a homeowner looking to enjoy vs. having to always repair.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 142 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

hot tub leaking

PostedMay 24, 2020
Customer avatar
Art
from Louisville Ky
Age:45-54
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
We do love our hot tub when it is working. We developed a leak around 11/01/2019. The dealer we purchased the tub from is no longer in business so I contacted Caldera for a warranty repair and they put me in contact with Watson’s of Louisville. On 12/13/2019 they sent a repairman out to assess the repair, as the repairman was leaving he stated “ I know what I need I just have to order the parts and set up a return to repair it. It was a slow leak that I was able to control so Watson’s and I schedule the first attempt in January 2020. it was extremely cold so we moved it to February once again the weather was not good for an outdoor repair so we rescheduled for March. In March, I was contacted by Watson’s informing me due to COVID 19 they had to shut down until further notice ( 2 days before the repair was to take place ). I contacted Watson’s the week of May 5th to see what their capabilities were and we set a repair appointment of 05/15/2020. Watson’s called the morning of 5/15/20 and informed me they may need to order more parts. They came lifted the tub and of course needed to order more parts. I followed up with Watson’s on 05/20/20 and was informed “ hey buddy we will not make it back until 06/09/20. I attempted to explain that I have been patiently waiting since 11/11/2019, but they didn’t care “sorry buddy other people are waiting also”. At this point, I will never recommend anyone to purchase a Caldera spa. My father in law has extreme arthritis and the only way he can function is by using the hot tub everyday. Sorry buddy you will have wait!
Response from Caldera SpasBy VanessaCustomer Service May 27, 2020
Hello Art,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am sincerely sorry that this has been one delay after another, and even though many of the delays have been beyond our control, we could have been more prepared for when we could service your spa.
I will contact your dealer and make sure they have the supplies that you need and email you so you can contact me directly with any other questions or concerns that you may have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 143 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don"t buy there spas

PostedDecember 8, 2016
Customer avatar
held captive
from oregon
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought a Caldera I live in Oregon Im forced to use one dealer for warranty repairs that is the worst in every way possible.
Dont Buy
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaDecember 12, 2016
I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your spa service. I would like to see how I can help. I will email you directly. I look forward in working with you soon.
Thank you for your review. calderaspas_brand
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 144 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad experience

PostedOctober 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Alex01
from San diego
Age:35-44
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hello , i want to share my bad experience to buy a hot tube brand , in 2013 i buy a hot tube model cantabria utopia series for holyday house in san diego, so really used very little, maybe some 15 times since buy it, today, strips water stoppers jets are unglued and controls turning to regulate pressure also ,service after sales company where to buy it has been very bad, i went to look and shop miramar road where you buy me and never had disappeared reported, i hope the brand make me the answers to all these problems
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaOctober 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your spa experience. The Cantabria spa comes with a 5 year component warranty. I am sure that we will be able to address your spa issues. I will email you to see how I can help. I'd like to learn more about what is going on so that I can improve your spa experience. I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 145 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

More trouble than its value...

PostedJune 29, 2016
Customer avatar
Oates
from LA
Age:25-34
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have had nothing but issues with this spa since we purchased it.
By Customer Service Caldera VanessaJune 30, 2016
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with your spa. I would like to see how I can help. Please look for an email from me, Customer Service. I look forward in working with you soon. calderaspas_brand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kathy
California
Posted June 30, 2016
What kind of issues have you had? We've had a rough first 3 months with our spa too.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Share this comment:
Facebook Twitter
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 146 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cantabria Bust

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Jeff Z
from Dubuque, Iowa
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I know a Hot Tub loses heat, I know I live in the Midwest, I know it is outside but....I purchased my WARM Tub in October of last year. I have had a shell crack, yes they fixed it, I have had lights go out, yes they fixed it, I have lost handles, yes they fixed them, you starting to see a pattern. The biggest issue I have is heat! If the temperature is below 20 degrees Fahrenheit it loses heat fast and by fast I mean 1 to 2 degrees every 15 minutes. I have talked to my dealer and he says they can do nothing. Please be aware if you want a Hot Tub and are going to have it outside you will get 30 minutes maximum of Hot Tub time, then you get WARM time and then will be forced to get out because it gets downright cold! They have said it is an efficiency heater trying to be more green…I just want a heater that keeps my Hot Tub hot I will do anything for that!!
Response from Caldera SpasBy Jaclyn Customer ServiceSeptember 29, 2014
Hello Hot Tubber -
I am very sorry to hear of the issues you've experienced thus far. I'd love to contact you directly to discuss further, and see how we can help in turning your experience around. If you don't mind, please send me your contact information, along with the best time to call you, to [email protected]
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 147 for Cantabria
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as Expected

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Michael
from United States
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Water Care 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Energy Efficiency 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased and delivered July 2014.
I am not a fan of the Cantabria. From the delivery process, which was unprofessional, to the end user experience this tub does not add up to all the hype about it being the top of the line model. I am not 100% convinced that other models of Caldera spas are any better. We have had issues with water quality, jets continually popping off or not rotating every time we use the tub, problems with the audio system, and even "programming/firmware" versions not being the latest. The diverter valves are hard to turn and the waterfalls continually drip water even if the valves are turned off.
I have yet to find a seat in this large tub that I can call my favorite and I will be the first to admit that I should have wet tested this model before purchasing.
I wish I could rate the entire experience of owning this tub better but I cannot as I'm truly disappointed.
Response from Caldera SpasBy Peggy W. Customer ServiceSeptember 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your Cantabria spa ownership experience. I am sorry to read that it has not been a more enjoyable purchase for you. I would like to know more about it, so will be writing to you directly. Hopefully I can speak with the dealer and help turn this around with you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8